I love you, but what am I doing about it?

Let’s take a moment to make a mental list of the people we love:

Our parents, siblings, significant others, extended family, friends…

This list comes to mind quickly – of course it does. Of course we love these people, but how well does another list come to mind: What have I done about it?

Love is more than a word, it’s an action. 

With today’s digital media, it’s easy to text a quick “love you” to our family and friends. Many teens admit feeling too nervous to speak on the phone with their boyfriends/girlfriends. What does this say about our actions, or further – is there a deeper emotion behind spoken word over type?

If saying “I love you” out loud requires courage sometimes, how much then do our actions mean?

As I get older, I realize that time with my parents runs shorter. It makes me sad, but it also pushes me to value my time with them. The holiday season is a time of reflection over the last year. As we celebrate, we all move together into the next year of our lives, welcoming it with parties, meals, and gifts. This year, make it a priority to end 2015 and begin the new year with love.

Make bold moves. Invest in those who invest in you. Love relentlessly.

This year especially, love is one of the most powerful gifts you can give.

One thought on “I love you, but what am I doing about it?

Leave a Reply

