Roses are red, but this year is new

This is the first Valentine’s Day in six years that I’ll spend by myself.

Okay, I guess that we could have coordinated something, but it was more trouble than it was worth this year. Vance lives three hours away now, and trying to squeeze in a late night dinner wouldn’t work with either of our school schedules. The realization that we wouldn’t get to spend the day together really hurt.

At first it didn’t really bother me. We both know how we feel about each other, and we try to show it often. I’ve felt more secure in our relationship over the last few months than I have in a while.

Ironically, I feel on the singles side this year, and I don’t like how it feels. I know, come Sunday morning, the posts will pour in. Photos of roses and fancy dinners. I’ve even considered taking a mini vacation from social media for the weekend.

Don’t get me wrong – everyone should feel loved on Valentine’s Day in any way possible. If a giant teddy bear makes you feel butterflies or if a steak dinner with your love in the city makes you feel cherished, I hope that it’s everything you’ve wished for.

This year, I just miss his presence. I miss seeing him in my house, thinking of him on the couch, or when he makes me the perfect grilled cheese when I’m unapproachable. I really regret taking all of that down time for granted.

This Valentine’s Day, I feel for anyone who knows what it’s like to be alone. People with significant others in the military, long distance relationships, have lost S.O.s to death, or haven’t found theirs yet. I am blessed to not know what that feels like very often, but I get tastes of it here and there.

To wrap up my thoughts, here are a few lessons I’ve learned so far:

  1. The simple things matter, too
  2. A VDay alone means a pint of Ben and Jerry’s all to yourself
  3. Love is love, so spend the day with anyone you’d like

Happy Valentine’s Day!

2 thoughts on “Roses are red, but this year is new

  1. St. Valentine’s day can be a stressful time considering the pressure of presenting a mountain of gifts to your loved one. At least thats what we are led to believe. You care and you love them very much…that should do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

